Poets logo

The Mirror’s Echo

You’re not home anymore

By Tessa Glasgow Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Brooke Shaden

It doesn’t sit well

In my stomach…

The way you look

Back at me

With uninspired eyes.

With a matte gaze

That somehow reflects

The unanswered questions

You hold inside.

The way you don’t feel

Like home anymore,

Just a husk that holds

The congealed blood

Of everything that was.

The way disappointment

Has shoveled your scowl

Into a recess

Where frustration hides.

The way your complexion

Has become

Just as ashen

As your direction.

And yeah,

I know there is always hope

That someday

You’ll look back at me

Without wearing

All the uncertainties

On the outside

And I will recognize

In your eyes

The energetic girl

I once knew

With all the hopes

And dreams

Of endless possibility.

But today…

Today the way

The mirror echoes

The unknown,

The tired,

The empty…

It just doesn’t sit right

Within me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tessa Glasgow

35. Stay at home mom. Dark Poetess

IG: @deadofnightpoetry

My debut poetry collection, “Wildfire From Hell: Poetry and Prose,” is now available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.