Poets logo

THE MENU

the first time I saw you

By Melissa IrelandPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

THE MENU

The first time I saw you was in the desert section.

I pretended that I had been to the restaurant many times,

but actually it was way out of my league.

Still, I paid the price.

The sweetness was unrecognizable, confusing,

and yet knowable all at the same time.

The taste lingered for years,

visiting in dreams,

and sometimes surfacing at the most surprising times.

Curiosity accompanied each visit way beyond nine lives.

I still wonder what one of the dishes in the appetizer section might be like,

or….on a very courageous day, what planet the main course would put me on!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Ireland

In 2019 I chose to let go of having a home to travel the world volunteering & be creative. Grateful for life's mysteries and love! https://instagram.com/melissa.ireland.56

And now a book! Wow!

https://www.listeningsbymelissaireland.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.