Poets logo

The Marilyn Letter

....

By Harydo NeonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
3

I guess sometimes my shadow becomes cast on the floor

And I sit looking and wondering what my life's worth

While another kid sits across the room, taking notes, she jots

I an dedicating this to her, cause I see though I am afar

Dear Marilyn, I guess I don't know where to start

Read your status and I realise we are both much alike

We have the same demons up in our living room

While we sit to watch them make our lives a living doom

I, heard your tales about those who question your worth

Those who look down on you, pull you down from the stalks

Those who stripped you off your esteem, one by one

Making you feel worth less than you actually are, but....

You whispered once about how he peeled off your fruits

Picked up the flower and plucked all the petals too

He was, someone you trusted, a relative but that's not relative

And now you have nightmares but have no one to explain ,how you live

I relate, I was once in that situation, stolen innocence

And everytime we look in the mirror, shattered images

Tears all over our pillowscase, stuffed in our cupboards

While smiling to the world cause that's what they want from us

I am sorry Marilyn, hate you had to go through this

Hate to see someone suffer the same fate I did

Hate to see you give up hope on what the world serves in a palatable dish

Hate to see that you wake up everyday feeling like you are not worthy still

I am here to write and tell you that you are worth more than a million stars

And if no one acknowledges it, it is because they don't see the scars

But I do because I have them too, like a symbiotic tattoo

But I wouldn't wish them on anyone, least of all not you

You are strong, vibrant and important to you

I saw your letters in emojis, so this is my reply to you

Your name was given and though there is something in you no one saw

I see it, in the name Marilyn which translates as Beloved.

slam poetry
3

About the Creator

Harydo Neon

I drain my thoughts through my pen. That's the only way I breathe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.