Poets logo

The Many Definitions of Comfort

It abounds all around me

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Vitaly on Pexels.com

Comfort is so many things

I dare not try to capture it

with a single definition

******

Comfort is the thunder on a rainy day

That rumbles through the clouds

sending delightful shivers down my spine

******

Comfort is the pitter-pat of raindrops

against the window pane

as I sit warmly inside

listening to the storm outside

while it quiets the storm within me

******

Comfort is my morning coffee

An aroma that lifts my soul to full alert

and provides my pallet it's first

taste of the day

******

Comfort is the slumbered breathing

of my husband lying next to me at night

reminding me that he has chosen this spot

nightly for twenty years

******

Comfort is the strength of his arms

wrapped around me when the world

has bent me so hard that I am

nearly breaking and he melts my aches away

******

Comfort is the smile of a grandchild

That loves you just as you are

And thinks you are perfect in every way

******

Comfort is the smell of puppies' breath

A wagging tale

A welcoming bark when you come home

A walk with your furry friend

******

Comfort is so many things

It abounds all around me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.