Poets logo

The Man In the Corner of My Eye

Musings on sleep paralysis and manifestations of anxiety.

By Alexandra AuthementPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

There is a man in the corner of my eye.

He is never there when I turn my head.

He stands above me when I sleep and is gone when I open my eyes.

I can hear him now and when I listen he will be gone.

I have never seen his face but he is watching

Watching

Watching

Watching.

There is a man just beneath my breastbone

Knocking to get out

Pushing harder and harder until I burst or vomit or scream.

He is under the lid of my eye

Peeling my skin back and exposing the tissue beneath.

There is a man clawing at my throat

Inhibiting my words, choking me from the inside out.

He is the man in the dark

The man in the corner

The man in the shadows.

He is watching me write.

He isn’t a ghost and he isn’t a demon.

He is just a man in the corner of my eye.

Maybe one day I will turn around and see him standing tall behind me

No longer ducking behind corners when I turn around

Or hiding in shadows.

Maybe one day I won’t turn around as he creeps up behind me.

Maybe he will tap me on the shoulder.

Maybe we’ll have lunch together.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Authement

Welcome! I've been writing as a hobby all my life and am interested in sharing my work with a wider audience. Here you'll find poetry, fiction, and short memoirs about my experience growing up in fundamentalist Christianity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.