Poets logo

The Magician

Self-Realization #VocalNPM

By Iyanda SirajPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to sit and dream of magic genies.

These days, I spit words like magic and produce instant remedies.

Times got hard. I went inside and tried to hide, like a hermit.

But, there I found a jewel, a Goddess. I’m so lit.

Truth is, what they said and what they did never meant shit.

‘Cause, now, I rock the doubters’ teeth around my neck, like an amulet.

A magician, holding all the tools.

Every hater, now, serves as a muse.

Front page. Hot news.

And ya’ll still piecing together clues.

Standing on this God-given platform, I dropped the fear and decided to trust more.

Creating my own reality;

No more chasing after distant shores, anymore.

My own power moves me. I am the fucking see.

Brush that chip off your shoulders. It’s time to bet on me.

Every day, I wake up and dance naked in the mirror.

I feel it, in my spirit, I’m gonna get it.

Vision clearer.

I woke up. You stayed sleep.

I bossed up. Ya’ll still sheep.

Unbothered; I’m Gucci.

I live free.

Quartz charging my leaves, while my tea steeps.

Through the cracks, in my heart, my true light seeps.

Bursting, at the seams. I came to light up every scene.

No longer blind and unable to hide.

No camouflage, no façade.

Just me.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Iyanda Siraj

I’ve lived a few times. And died a few too. I tell the story by putting letters into lines. Depending on my mood, sometimes it rhymes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.