Poets logo

The Machine

A necessity for modern life?

By Denise DavisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2022
64

The machine -

so necessary for modern life -

sits near its companion, unused:

its drum empty, its timer silent.

What it replaced, the line,

beckons

my body, my hands, my spirit.

Wet laundry, heaved outside,

then pinned by clips

across the yard, under blue sky

- as it always had been -

bathes in sunshine,

wafts in wind,

drying as bees bumble,

squirrels scurry,

birds sing.

Reaching upward,

my hands repeat

the actions of my mother,

my grandmothers,

theirs too.

Together we extend and bend,

extend and bend,

extend and bend.

In union, we retrieve

clothing warmed,

ready to wear,

the gift of nature,

our eternal mother.

nature poetrysocial commentary
64

About the Creator

Denise Davis

A Manhattan-toasted, Kentucky marinated, Southern Californian, this 60+ year old woman has studied writing, taught writing and admired writing. It's time to actually begin writing. We shall see how this goes.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Congrats on top story! Great work!

  • Stephanie Brown2 years ago

    A wringer washer, perhaps? This takes me back. I can feel the clothesline under my palm! :)

  • keenan eliezer2 years ago

    Great!

  • Monce Orona2 years ago

    Well written

  • jamar chilcote2 years ago

    Very good

  • Ericka Gadsden2 years ago

    I really like this article

  • caldwell benis2 years ago

    I really like this article

  • Munford Meggan2 years ago

    Well written

  • Women's work is the hardest of all. I'm glad you never listened to this "professor". He probably never wrote anything creative, so how could he know? Your poem is outstanding! Excellent job.

  • Thank you all for taking the time to comment. Decades ago, a favorite professor of mine told me that I am no poet, crushing my desire to even try. Your support reminds me how powerful a single comment can be. I hope others are telling you to keep writing. I’m planning to read your work as soon as I have time to savor your words.

  • Rodvold Blades2 years ago

    Great! I want to give you credit!

  • Rekhi Ony2 years ago

    I loved it too!

  • Roca Ford2 years ago

    Very well written, thanks for sharing👏👏👏

  • Sarah Loyd2 years ago

    I loved it too!

  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Loved and subscribed! Can't wait to read more of your work! Consider having a look at mine and if you like it, please subscribe... there's a lot to come!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.