Poets logo

The Machine

Who am I?

By A. KesonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Machine
Photo by Michal Matlon on Unsplash

Who am I?

I am a revolving part of this great machine

Never moving farther ahead

but I do sometimes fall behind

Only to pick up the pace and fall back into line.

The world seems so open and free-

Beautiful scenes are on my screen

Others post their wonderful lives vacationing abroad

From the ruins in Bali to the Caribbean's sea

But for me, they are just out of reach;

I must work my life away to make ends meet.

I went to college to make my life easier,

but at the end a piece of paper for my wall was my only reward.

"Go to college and you'll see- You can be rich like Me! A good job with good pay, you'll be able to take hold of your dreams without delay!"

I still work and hardly play

Time away is always at bay.

Once I'm done with my work day I am too tired to go outside

Two days a week are all I receive

My hobbies barely remember me.

But if you don't work your life away you're a deadbeat and scorned

But working too much is a sin and makes you a bore.

I just want to get ahead, and revisit the activities I adore

But I can't stop revolving in this machine once more.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Keson

Thank you for visiting my page! My goal is to write articles and short stories that are interesting and hopefully educational. I work full time but writing has always been a hobby that I am passionate about. I hope everyone enjoys my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.