Poets logo

The Lure of Moonlight

Wonderful Creature

By Cindy CalderPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

He looked at me beyond the obvious, and I shivered amidst

The deepness of his eyes, so piercing and midnight blue

Their intensity was nothing anyone would ever miss

And I knew beyond any doubt, a new reckoning anew.

I felt the haunting of my soul and my eyes stung with tears

I was both afraid and enticed beyond any measure I’d known

As he moved toward me, his purpose much too evidently clear

I stood where I was, unmoving, lest the root of his purpose be sown.

The line of his mouth hardened, his blue eyes deepened to black

Mesmerized, unable to move, I watched him draw ever nearer,

I felt the chill of his breath as he sighed, poised on the precipice of attack

And an enlightenment of his purpose became abundantly clearer.

Here was no simple mortal known to mankind amidst the dark

But a creature, so wonderfully formed betwixt both it and the light

He leaned closer to me, his beautiful mouth reaching its mark

And I fell into him, not resisting that which was to be my plight.

I felt the thrill of his touch, the chill of his mouth as he imbibed

From me the blood that ran richly and so magnificently red

And I knew that from this point evermore our worlds would collide

Into an unknown, unchangeable moment I neither feared nor did dread.

He lifted his coal black gaze, looking deeply into dazed eyes of green

I fell and leaned into him, pleading and begging for still more despite

So strong was the unforgiveable need for the unknown and what I had seen

As I longed for his feast upon me to prolong with no need of respite.

Wonderful creature of darkness and light, mark me forever more

With your chilled touch and your stealthy lightness of foot

Make me yours through this night and the truth of your lore

My mind screamed, my heart beat, as the unbidden thought took root.

A grimace of a smile deliberately formed upon his handsome visage

As he stepped back and gave me a look of pure longing so vivid

My heart skipped a beat and felt the immensity of the privilege

And then he quietly withdrew, and the need for him steadily lifted.

As he disappeared into the liquid ink of the midnight evening

I looked about, slowly returned to myself, though amazed and in wonder

With thoughts anew at what I’d just seen despite knowing it was deceiving

And my heart and mind split, and my complete being burst asunder.

Beautiful creature of darkness and light, come back to me my heart cried

I long for the vivid, deep blue of your eyes and the black of your soul

I’ll give you the richness of my blood evermore if you will but draw nigh

And return on the wings of the night, gifting back my heart that you stole.

Now in the stillness of the dark night, long years beyond that first time

I feel the blue of a piercing look, the chill of breath, the touch of his mouth

And I long for him who invaded midnight while into my heart he did climb

Creating a vortex within, as forever, my love for any other was doused.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.