Poets logo

The Lucky One

"I feel that I'm the lucky one, Because I'm not so blue."

By Jessie WaddellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Photo by luizclas from Pexels

You never hesitate to tell me,

The ways we aren't the same,

You want me to fit the mould,

Like it won't cause any pain.

-

You look at me with pity,

If only I could be like you,

But why would I want that?

You're such a boring shade of blue.

-

I find I'm not cut out,

For your reality.

And still, you must insist,

What you have is worth my envy.

-

But I like my time alone,

In the confines of my mind,

You really must believe,

I'm not getting left behind.

-

For when I spend time in my head,

Adventures never end,

Imagination guides me,

Through every twist and bend.

-

My kingdom is coated in colour,

An iridescent sheen,

I sit upon its humble throne,

The creative rainbow Queen.

-

I know you think I'm lonely,

But that is far from true,

I feel that I'm the lucky one,

Because I'm not so blue.

-

I cannot stop the words,

From circling through my head,

Round and round they go,

Restless and unsaid.

-

And so I need more space to think,

To collect my racing thoughts.

I see them as a blessing,

An uncontrollable force.

-

When I find the time,

To let the colours flow,

They spew out on the page,

Done with moving slow.

-

Instead of saying different,

Why not try unique?

I could teach a thing or two,

If it's answers that you seek.

-

Instead of casting judgement,

Perhaps try to understand,

If we were all the same,

Then life would be so bland.

art
10

About the Creator

Jessie Waddell

I have too many thoughts. I write to clear some headspace. | Instagram: @thelittlepoet_jw |

"To die, would be an awfully big adventure"—Peter Pan | Vale Tom Brad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.