Poets logo

The Love that Remains

Remembering my beloved dog, Sierra

By Gabriel HuizengaPublished 20 days ago Updated 12 days ago 1 min read
7
Rest easy, sweet pup <3

Even though a year has now

Come and quickly gone, since you

Left,

I still ache to see you and

Pet your soft and furry head;

Sierra, even death can't

Eclipse the love that remains.

*

*

*

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

I am afraid sometimes that the hurts to our hearts across the years never really heal- they simply fade from memory, or are jostled out of the front of our minds by other (apparently) more pressing or painful matters. In this poem, I am reflecting on grief as 'love perservering,' as the writers of WandaVision so aptly put it.

Each line in here is intentionally seven syllables; supposedly, one gets a dogs approximate age in 'dog years' by multiplying their actual age by seven. I liked the idea of honoring that with the syllable count (though the actual science of 'dog years' is, naturally, unreliable!!) The exception to the pattern is of course the third line, which I wanted to keep at only one striking syllable as a means of reflecting the difficult and abrupt change that a loss creates.

Thank you for reading! If you have ever lost a pet, I hope you too can find the comfort and processing you need, when and how you need it. <3

heartbreaksad poetryMental HealthinspirationalFamily
7

About the Creator

Gabriel Huizenga

Twas for love of words that I first joined this site:

Poetry, essays, and dear short stories too;

For to live one's best is to read, and to write!

So find me in words here, and I'll find you 💙

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard19 days ago

    Beautiful and so intentional in stylistic choices! Dogs are such a gift and leave such a hole when they’re gone.

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 I love how the syllable count represented dog years. Your Acrostic was so poignant and touching.

  • Andrea Corwin 19 days ago

    Holy cow, 7 7 - wow. I “talk” to my numerous passed pets every day. Very hard sometimes without them and every place reminds me! Great eclipse poem, I loved it. 😍 Feel better… 🤗

  • John Cox19 days ago

    This is a beautiful and moving elegy to Sierra and a wonderful entry to the challenge. I love the use of eclipse in the final line, Gabriel. It is so apt!

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    Beautifully done and what a tribute

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.