Poets logo

The Lord Can Do Anything For You, Except This

Just another poem of the times by E Lloyd Kelly.

By E. Lloyd KPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
The Lord Can Do Anything For You, Except This
Photo by Arteum.ro on Unsplash

The lord can do anything but this, just another poem of the times

This and one other thing the lord can’t do. Now, hiss, and chew.

The lord can’t bless me, and it’s all because of me, and you?

She wants so much to bless me but she can’t.

Because I won’t let her, and me? I won’t let her because.

I’m doing these other things that she wishes I wouldn’t do better.

So that she could really bless me down to the letter.

Like she wants so much to do. But I won’t stop doing those things, who knew?

And try as she may? She just can’t stop me from doing them that way, therefore.

She can’t bless me as she would before. If only I could stop.

And I was just about to ask her why then, why is she god, and not me?

But "that would be blasphemous coming off me," they say.

Who are you to question the lord that way?

You know that she can’t, I mean, she won’t answer those sorts of questions. Right, Aunt?

Now, go to sleep tight, and have a good night.

By E Lloyd Kelly. © 2020. Just another #poemofthetimes, #loveletterstomybrothers

excerpts
1

About the Creator

E. Lloyd K

E Lloyd Kelly is an author, poet, podcaster, & blogger. Born in Jamaica, W.I. Now resides in Mtl. Where, when not writing, drives a shuttle bus at McGill University Check my podcast at inkyitalk.com. Connect: https://linktr.ee/writingelk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.