Poets logo

The Long Walk Home

An Ode to Pets in Audio and Textual Form

By S. A. CrawfordPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Photo by Dmitriy Zub via Pexels

I cannot bear to lose you,

Though I know you must one day go.

All the miles you have walked by my side,

are but a fraction of that long walk home.

A bright, jingling empty collar,

and a heart as heavy as a stone.

No one can prepare me for that awful long walk home.

Every creature has its time,

and though I will not let you go.

You will go where I cannot follow,

and leave me with the long walk home.

I wrote this poem while waiting to hear if my pet was coming home from an emergency vet visit. Below is a spoken performance of that poem.

performance poetry

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Beautiful and heartfelt...it pulls on all my heart strings.

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    I love that you shared audio of you reciting this emotionally gripping poem—and I love your accent. I’m glad she’s back home.

  • C.R. Hughesabout a year ago

    Very beautiful! I'm not a pet owner myself but I could feel all of the emotion you put into this piece. Thank you for sharing

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    Great work, very moving.

S. A. CrawfordWritten by S. A. Crawford

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.