Poets logo

The Lonely Christmas Rain

A Villanelle Poem

By Rae Fairchild (MRB)Published 5 months ago 1 min read
1
The Lonely Christmas Rain
Photo by Cole Farlow on Unsplash

The bed had sheets bleached snow-white and the hospital room was plain.

Everyone came to say “Good-bye,” one last time to see.

Our tears fell with shaking sobs, all in endless refrain.

You had to answer heaven’s call, your soul another for its gain.

Then when you breathed your final gasp, you took the life from me.

And where your love once had dwelled, now a gaping void of pain.

The days that followed were all a blur, yet that moment burned within my brain.

How does one pick up the pieces of a life, to carry on and be?

I longed to lie down on the tracks and wait for my final train.

Then a year had turned and gone, yet my life is emptiness ingrain.

For all the happiness that was you, I could never again hope to see.

You were the reason for my being, my everything, and my sustain.

There is no smile behind my eyes, no peace I will ever attain.

Never again will I feel that love, like the way that you loved me.

The agony of my loss of you will always in my heart remain.

And when the holidays roll around, those cheerful songs are sung in vain.

For your memory holds on so tight, and I, a captive, do not live free.

The joyful spirit that floats on winter’s air, from it I shall abstain.

While the snow outside drifts with grace, in my soul, cold and heavy falls the rain.

VillanelleheartbreakFamily
1

About the Creator

Rae Fairchild (MRB)

I love to write; putting pen to paper fills my heart and calms my soul!

Rae Fairchild is my pen name. (Because why not? Pseudonyms are cool!)

I do publish elsewhere under my real name, Mary Rae Butler. (Fairchild, an old family surname.)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rulam Day4 months ago

    Beautifully written and heartfelt.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.