Poets logo

The Light from Within

Homeschooled. Betrayed. Determined. A poem about finding my home.

By Mind and Body lifestylePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
My journey of learning to "leave the light" on for myself.

My home is my safe zone yet I want to leave,

I'm venturing out - it's so hard to breathe.

Anxiety from invisible walls out there,

for this reason alone, I could do nothing but stare.

How could they be so confident and carefree?

My awkwardness is smeared all over me.

Frozen inside but don't let them see,

I wanted this life, so now it's up to me.

I'm 21 now, I'm headed out West,

I know it's a mistake but I'll have no rest.

I have to see more - I won't play it safe!

I've been stifled my whole life, it's a risk I'm willing to take.

My heart was ripped out, I want to go home,

Life's first major lesson was mine to own.

Pick myself up and work through my twenties,

breaking my back for a handful of pennies.

There's got to be more, out there for me!

We packed up our lives and moved to Cincinnati.

"I'm your home now" my ex made it clear,

the days grew unbearable and so did my fear.

We bought our first house, only seven weeks prior,

I was scared and uncertain but the situation was dire.

I'm so far away from my family and friends,

but if I don't leave right now it might be the end.

So I packed up and left one brisk autumn night,

a home that meant nothing but loneliness and fright.

I was finally safe! I felt so free!

The church was my home - they'd surely support me.

But the truth had been twisted, he knew it would sell,

"You cannot divorce him! You're going to hell!"

A community I thought I never would doubt,

"Respond to our threats or 3 strikes and you're out!"

"You don't have to answer them..." I heard a voice say,

I know you're still with me God, show me the way.

So I stuck to my guns, ignoring emails and calls.

I've never looked back and don't regret it at all.

Deep down I knew I had value to hone,

My light never dwindled. I was never alone.

So these last several years I've been on a new quest!

To develop my passions. To do my absolute best.

I fell madly in love with the love of my life,

and earlier this year, he made me his wife!

I now feel at home with self, God and life,

a beautiful homecoming from years full of strife.

I hope my story helped inspire and encourage you! Remember to always be brave enough to love yourself no matter what life throws at you.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Mind and Body lifestyle

Hey there! I'm Marissa! I have a passion for writing about a variety of mental health topics that impact us in our daily lives. My hope is to share useful information to anyone seeking to improve their own lives in these important areas!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.