Poets logo

The Left turn Lane

A Poem

By Vikki HeadPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2

D iverging from a broken path, I make a decision too late

I 'm circling and always wondering if this life is the one I've chosen

S itting at a red light, the left lane is beckoning to me

T o take that turn, and go a different way, away from all I've known

R ight now, my mind says yes, something calling me to a freedom I need

A nd yet, my heart says no, go straight, the way back from where you came

C ould I do it, drive away and keep going?

T o a place I've never been, but then, what...?

I want to, I yearn for it, and yet I am terrified

O nly now, as the green arrow blinks awake, do I know what I must do

N ever knowing what might have been, I turn my blinker off and go home again.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Vikki Head

There is life-giving and renewing energy in the written word. I find power and solace behind the pen and keyboard and an outlet for my different passions. I enjoy writing fantasy and sci-fi and poetry will always be my third child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Ooh, I've been there before. Perhaps not as extreme and driving away from everything, but enough of a temptation to go a different way, be impulsive for once. Great verses, here; love the emotional turmoil that comes through!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.