Poets logo

The Leaves

Note for You

By The Girl in GreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The leaves are finally morphing

Exchanging their greens for reds & yellows

The air has cooled to be calm in the morning

Summer sun turns light to mellow

Time won't stop for any of us

One day grows closer to the matte

Trying to be present, trying to be enough

Remembering warmth, trying not to forget that

It's so lovely to be in love in the fall

So nice to come home to open arms

If I can have this, the world can have it all

Paint brushes for trips and tattoos for my scars

Some days are harder than others

I'll switch my anxiety for pumpkin spice

Seek comfort in dance and my lover

Swiftly remove tears from my eyes

The world is oh so large & lovely

And it is such a season to behold

With falling stars in the sky above me

The gift of being warm in the cold

Gratitude & gargoyles for this time

I wish I could tell you I'm out of solitude

It's going so well; love is finally mine

The only thing missing is you

OOXX,

Chayle

heartbreakperformance poetryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.