Poets logo

The Least of Us

My Little Green Friend

By Jennifer TruePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Least of Us
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

My

little

green

friend

who

plugs

along

I

wonder

how

it

is

to

be

you

how

it

feels

to

live

amongst

the

twigs

and

leaves

slowly

moving

climbing

and

sliming

your

way

along

you

leave

a

shiny

gleaming

trail

of

a

mucus

like

substance

as

you

go

and

even

though

I

have

always

been

kind

to

you

I

find

that

you

continually

sneak

little

bites

of

my

flowers

herbs

and

clover

there

you

go

again

a

chomp

chomp

here

and

a

chomp

chomp

there

you

leave

my

greens

in

shreds

without

a

care

to

be

honest

however

you

seem

oblivious

to

my

existence

and

as

I

observe

you

I

do

not

wish

to

hurt

you

nor

do

I

disturb

you

as

I

recognize

you

are

God’s

creature

too

but

I

must

confess

although

you

are

earnest

I

do

not

wish

for

you

to

return

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer True

Hello,

I was living in a remote cabin when covid-19 lockdown hit. I began writing a poem every day as a writing project and have continued on from there. Thank you so much for reading my work and for your feedback.

Cheers!

Jennifer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.