Poets logo

The Learning Curve

A Confessional Poem

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Learning Curve
Photo by José Martín Ramírez Carrasco on Unsplash

I am still learning

As an adult

Stepping on others’ toes

Insulting

Don’t mean to

Please tell me what I have done

Explain to me

What I don’t understand

Why scream it at me

Harsh words

Shouted

Typed

Made to villainize me

By Pawel Janiak on Unsplash

I am still trying to learn

As an adult

Help me

Don’t leave me stranded

Wondering

What did I do

To incur your wrath

Talk to me

Engage with me

If you don’t like what I have to say

Change me

My mind is open

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I am still struggling

As an adult

To understand the world around me

We all are

Help me

Help us

Don’t block me

When I still don’t understand

What I did wrong

Did I do something wrong?

As an adult

I am still learning

So are you

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.