Poets logo

The Last Supper

Peace to may family

By El PoetPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
4
The Last Supper
Photo by Jonathan Farber on Unsplash

To me the last supper consisted of breast meat chicken nuggets, because that's the day you departed.

Even though your head-ached and you were sick to your stomach I was never starving.

If you in the kitchen, I'm grubbing. I could put my heart and soul in that.

And yes, I do beg of your pardons always and often.

I'm coughing, ball in throat...The sight of you in a coffin knowing that's all she wrote.

But I've seen pages after the last chapter left blank. So, why I think for ages...

Now when death came in my chest caved in, breath stayed erratic...

But now I know the best days come in fresh ways, It's magic when sun rays pierce clouds.

Yet it's weird how in the least of circumstances you kept it perfect in chances and odds.

Through you I learned an understanding of God...and many evils, tales of tempting people

And joyous occasions you kept bringing as life lesson, like 'fight with your mind as a weapon.'

You made it feel right to have less than, and we did. Although I had as many toys, as any kid.

I know you broke the back of that workhorse in the work force to give me a slim chance.

You are worth more in your memories than any image to me.

Now watch him dance in an old fashion stance, hoping you happen to grasp his hand.

Making me the happiest bastard man alive, instantly...

Intentionally you were hard on me, always an inch for me a beating...

Grandma and them speaking about how you were too overbearing

But I thank you for the clothes I am wearing and the fact that you were more than caring,

A life spawned formed in sharing wisdom...I play not nor kid them on the notion

Of what I would say and mention when I spot you, like "Damn, Mom dukes! How you get so good at raising me.

Oh I forgot, oops! Grandma raised you!" And you reply, "Grandma raised you, too."

I do look high in the sky and say, I know all about the ham hock in stews and them damn pots too...

She don't play, cause life ain't never crisp like Frito Lays potato chips...

I remember she would say, "There was a many holiday we had to wait on gifts."

"But that makes no sense, Grandma. You shouldn't have to wait on shit! But wait, I'm gon' put weight on this.

I promise, you can always call on Thomas!" My word is honest: born truth.

I had a reformed youth, but I pay homage and more is due.

My core is true, Diane. Hoping to be as pure as you, I am...trying.

Peace to my fam' decease or right here...I'ma keep ya right here for a heap of light years...

slam poetry
4

About the Creator

El Poet

Subscribe, so I can provide something magical while striving to be autobiographical. For the life of me I shall not take a sabbatical. I'll keep writing these apical poems, as longs as it's fashionable to my passionate flow. Let's go!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mary G Bird2 years ago

    Mom was Dad in my house, but this-this right here is the one that broke me this morning. There is nothing in the world more valuable than the teachings we get from our elders and what we can pass on to our juniors. Well done and deeply felt.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.