Poets logo

The Last Place I Traveled

An Adventure Poem

By McKenzie McQuadePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Last Place I Traveled
Photo by Tanya Grypachevskaya on Unsplash

The last place I had traveled was the Land of Fire

Rumors spread tales of glorious blazing birds perched upon tall stone spires

Wind of this news caused adventure to beckon to me

"Searching for these birds will definitely fill your heart with glee"

Venturing the realm was something I had always promised my heart I would never retire

Ever since I'd advertised myself as a merc for higher

Word of my reputation is how in this place I came to be

This is the Land of 101 millionth degree

While traveling this Land of Fable

It had occurred to me that back home a liar of me the may label

Home I could not return if this proclaim rang true

So I decided I had to obtain proof of my trek through the land where glorious flame didn't only blaze but also flew

By the luck of my leprechaun blood I had stumbled upon a charcoal rock table

Where found I feathers from whimsical birds of fable

Quickly I filled my pack while singing joyfully

Before returning home with evidence enough for doubters to appease

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

McKenzie McQuade

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.