Poets logo

The Land

.

By The Invisible WriterPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

When I was born, when I first opened my eyes

I did not see the land, I saw my mother, my father

I saw the smiles they wore, I felt the warmth they gave

When they took me home the first time

When I saw the land the first time

I didn’t know what love was, but I felt it inside

When I was a child, when I played with my friends outside

When I went to school, when I first learned about the land

When I was taught our history, When I first discovered

The sacrifices of those who came before me

I knew I loved every inch of this land

Every grain of soil, every rock, every pebble

Every mountain top, every blade of grass

Every stream, every river, every shore

When I was grown, when I first dreamed of a family

When I found someone, when I first fell in love

When I was married, when I first became a father

I knew I would give my life to keep them safe

When the bombs fell, when the first bullets flew

When the tanks came, when the first buildings crumbled

I knew I would not rest

Until this land was ours again

When my family became refugees

When I looked in their eyes

When I said goodbye

When I saw the tears, they cried

I knew I would carry them with me

Until the day I returned

When I picked up a rifle,

When I first rushed to join the fight

When I first understood the sacrifice of independence

When I first saw the devastation of war

When I first felt the anger from pride rising

I knew in my heart

There was no turning back

When the first of our lives were lost

When the first words of our courage reached the world

When the first of our citizens became soldiers

When the first of our hospitals were shelled

When the first mass graves were dug

I knew from my next breath to my last

I would fight for the land

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.