Poets logo

The labyrinth

A poem about trolls

By Veronica Valentine Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

While lost in the labyrinth

The one that lead false preachers to the reek of death

The scent of the Minotaur burned her eyes.

Inside her heart, Ophelia drowned as she stood before the marble in blood stained silk.

The three statue heads, cruel and kind, were smiling.

“I took your love” said the first.

“I stole your past” said the third.

“Will I steal your future?” Asked the third.

“No” she retorted.

Beyond the statues came the Minotaur.

“ Why do you always follow me? You know I will kill” he moaned.

“I cannot help my nature. The least you can do is to be kind” she replied.

“I cannot help my nature. It is my duty to be cruel” he growled toxic sludge around his lips.

“That is the biggest lie you have ever told” she sighs.

The maze is gone now,

replaced by glowing screens and persistent insults.

But the Minotaur and the lost girl will always remain.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Valentine

Writing into the void!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.