Poets logo

The King's Ballad

In the World That I wish To Know

By Albert J. Clark JrPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

The Kings Ballad:

"In the world that I use to know.

There were night walks while the stars'll glow

Clean air filled with dirty jokes

And sweet kisses under the mistletoe

In the world that I use to know

There was no medicine for the stress

Fewer pills, more plants

Not intended, nonetheless

In the world that I use to know

There was no reason for depression

We'd love, we'd sing

We sought for perfection

In the world that I use to know

There were warm hearts and mature minds

Smooth talk, through rough crimes

But people change and so does time

In this world that I now know

There's rough talk through rough times

Colder hearts, immature minds

And more fishing with rare finds

In this world that I now know

There's suicide over depression

We hate, we cry

We crave imperfection

In this world that I now know

There is cheap medicine for the stress

More pills, fewer plants

All intended, nonetheless

In this world that I now know

There are lonely walks while the stars glow

Truthful lies from sheltered souls

And people stepping over the mistletoe

In the world that I wish to know...

There is smooth through smooth times

Gold sidewalks while the sun shines

And no need of fishing lines

In the world that I wish to know

There's no suicide, no depression

We laugh, we dance

We agree to imperfections

In the world that I wish to know

There's no lonely walks when the stars glow

Open doors for open souls

And people handing others mistletoes"

"My King, good day." says the servant. (abruptly)

(spills tea) "Good day, James. How are you today?" Responds the King. (rubbing his clothing)

"I am very well, my King. Blessed."

"That Is good. How is the family?"

"They are doing very well, my King."

"And how about the neighbors?"

"They are well, also. I just spoke with them on my way here."

"And what about the dogs, how are..."

"My King, are you trying to avoid this Newsletter I have for you?"

"Well...that's...I was just.....yes."

"I know you also care very much for my well-being as well as the people and animals, but you must read this, My Lord."

"Yes, I know. Bring it here."

The servant James hands over The Kingdom's Newsletter.

"Thank you, James." says the King.

"My pleasure, my Lord."

"Is it? Is it your pleasure to constantly force me to read this every single day, James?" (the King say while staring at James)

"Uhh....no my...."

"I'm kidding, James. Grab a seat. Have some tea. Let's see what the Kingdom is up to this day."

Mr. Wall:

"Hahaha, I tell ya. That Mr. Wall is always losing things." The King chuckles. "It was a good idea to hire a poet to write the Newsletter."

"Well, he was the only one who was enthusiastic about it. He seems to really love it and works hard to writing these to be simple, yet, informative for you and the citizens."

"Good. He's aware of the attention span that the people have. Short, entertaining, and to the point is what these people want. You have to catch and hold their attention in 3 seconds. Do that and you can take them anywhere you want. But it must be a good first impression. It must be captivating. Nothing like a nice short poem for the news. It's like a pitstop for the eyes. They need this information, but it has to be implemented in a way that sticks. I love poetry."

"Yes, so do I, my Lord."

"Do you, really?"

"Yes, my Lord. I was raised with it. I even wrote a couple myself, for my mother when I was just 5 years of age."

"Remarkable. I would like for you to show me sometime, James."

"It would be an honor, my King."

"Splendid! Don't forget Okay! Okay, back to this Newsletter."

Reggie:

"Remarkable."

"What is, My Lord?"

"This young man has visions?"

"Well, yes, my Lord."

"Splendid! Bring him here in the evening for dinner. Invite his family as well. I would like to have a conversation with this young man about this gift of his."

"Of course, sir, but what about the injustice?"

"Yes, well, we must deal with that."

"Yes, my Lord."

"Bring in the officers tonight as well. The ones who took in Reggie. Invite them all tonight for dinner."

"Yes, my Lord."

"I can hardly wait to hear the young man's visions. (the King says merrily) Alright, what's next?"

No Freedom:

"Oh my, God. What the..."

"Don't use the Lord's name in vain, James."

"Sorry, my Lord."

"That's alright, I forgive you. But if you do it again, i might have you banished for eternity. Hahaha"

Then James begins to laugh and they both laugh.

(The King starts to cough. then lets out a sigh) "How long has he been in the Kingdom?"

"For 3 days, my Lord, before getting kidnapped."

"He's a man, James. So I'm sure he'll prefer "man-napped. And that's not in one's right mind to do such a thing."

"What shall I do, my Lord?"

"Mmmmh.....Invite these men over for dinner tonight."

"The men-nappers, my Lord?"

"Yes. Schedule it to be met right after the young man with the visions. What was his name again?"

"Reggie, my Lord."

"Yes, Reggie. Thank you. Okay, James, that's enough for today. Get this to the bishop to be sought through and taken care of."

"Yes, my Lord."

"Don't come back. I will see you tonight for dinner."

"Yes, my Lord. Thank you."

"Thank you, James."

The King goes out onto his balcony and looks out to the kingdom afar off.

'sigh. "I love this place and these people, but I would really rather be there with you, my Lord"

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.