Poets logo

The Jiggly Goos

White Rabbit

By River B.Published 2 months ago 2 min read
2
The Jiggly Goos
Photo by Thomas Lipke on Unsplash

One morning I wake up

To that white light caused by

The sun shining on the snow.

I sit up and hug my blanket,

Feeling warmth.

Not long after Ivi and Min arrive.

It's hard to describe what that looks like.

They sort of emerge

Out of a blurry swirl of colors.

I would call it a portal,

But I don't think their world is that

Removed from mine.

Min quickly befriends a white rabbit,

And Ivi dances with

The falling snow.

I put on my jacket

Gloves

Hat

Boots

And scarf.

Then I step outside,

And it is silent, but not lonely.

All I can hear is

Min giggling, and Ivi

Swirling the snow around it.

"Good morning, living" Ivi says

In the middle of a gentle twirl.

I told Ivi I have a name,

But it and the others prefer

To simply acknowledge that

Who they are talking to

Is alive,

And that they are part of the world.

I told Ivi I came up with names for them,

And they're okay with me using them

For the sake of these stories.

They understand that in stories

Humans need names or descriptors to differentiate between characters.

"Good morning" I reply.

Ivi looks around and then says:

"The world is quite miraculous, isn't it?

When snow is on the ground,

The ground nearly acts as a second sun.

It lights up and so it's not so dark,

Even though the sun is hidden away.

This is what working together is, living.

It's helping something with its task when it

Cannot do it."

I pick up some snow,

And I roll it in my hands until it becomes a ball.

Then I hold my little snow baby and it

Makes me smile.

"I'm afraid the majority of us humans don't think of it like that.

Most of the time, to be honest,

We don't work together.

I'm not really sure why.

I mean, sometimes we do,

But most of the time it's everyone for themselves."

We look over at Min, still playing and talking with

The white rabbit.

"That's quite a way to live on one planet" Ivi says.

"Yes, it is" I say as I look into the grey sky.

Snow gently falls on my face

And melts.

"Well,

That is just your group of livings.

Maybe their ways make you feel

That the world is a lonely, isolating place.

But it isn't.

In the real world, in nature, everything

Is working together,

And nothing is alone.

Any lonely feeling is just an illusion.

A tough one to see through,

But you can.

And when you can't,

Try to remember

That you're just not seeing all that

There is.

All that's around you.

Even when there are no other 'humans' around,

There is a colony of ants underground,

There is an expanse of grass,

There is a mycelium network,

Tree roots and dandelion roots

And beehives and white rabbits.

And so you are never without company"

Ivi continues to dance.

When snowflakes land on Ivi and Min,

They don't just melt like they do on me,

They jiggle and wiggle and wobble

And glow gold for a moment,

Then finally absorb into them.

It's a funny little sight,

I must admit.

Mental Healthnature poetrychildrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Love the photo at the top. Love the part about lonely illusion and all the things around that you might not see but are there.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.