Poets logo

The Jersey Shore

The hurricane’s home

By Kimberley Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Will you wait for me to wake up? Will you watch me fall asleep? Will you wonder what I’m dreaming- will you hold me down so deep? Drown me in your water. Wash me all away. The tidal wave is coming. Come crashing down on me. The serpent skins so slippery. It’s smooth and it’s so cold. It slithers down beneath, this world we want to hold. Slip between my fingers. It drips down again so low. Here it comes, it’s winter- the frozen part of my soul. It cuts me like diamonds. The beauty makes me bleed. It’s shiny and I’m trying to control my greed. All the anchors down there. Can’t hold you in place. When your drowning from despair- the life you chose to waste. You jumped tied to iron. You let it carry you down. Now your on the bottom. Can you feel the ground? Shallow the world has always been. Just a step away. Superficial and fake. On the surface where they stay. Too scared to go deeper. So empty you could float. Until your filled with shit and sinking. Sick from shooting dope. Self inflicted the misery. Man-made all the pain. Created a past called history. Fought for the honor you betrayed. Bought a life of loneliness. Trapped inside your home. Paying to just exist. Dying all alone. Left behind and used for. What you had to steal. Lost inside this hell you call - “this life”- you think is real. When we’re all just damaged, broken, on the bottom of the sea. We’re all the wreckage- left behind like me. It spit me out and chewed you- until you could go down. Swallowed by the world you thought was always just a town. It’s all the evil you could imagine. It’s all the hatred you can take. It’s all the misery you can handle. All the hearts that you could break. It’s a lie you pass down like heredity. Unknown family tree. Eventually turning to cancer that one day takes you out like the sea. Searching for an answer. Trying to understand. This evil just a chance for you to one day make amends. This enemy your ocean. The breeze becomes your will. You start gasping for air every moment when the wind becomes still. Right beside despair, next to all your grief. You shed away emotions like a drifting leaf. Will you wave and smile? Will you shake my hand? Will you build a pile, then bury me in the sand? Will you say good-bye? Or will you just go? Leave me with this life- I’d one day like to know. If you will be watching- keeping me above ground. Helping me find that thing- that you never found. Don’t let me dry out- like the desert is meant to be. The ground where we stand- used to be the sea.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.