Poets logo

The Introvert

A poem

By Jennifer ChristiansenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18
The Introvert
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

I remember the day

when Mom tried to leave me

at nursery school

I cried, threw a tantrum

They called her to

take me back home.

Catholic school

A narrow escape

I was caught by a nun

as I drew naked people

Sent home with a scowl.

Closed window of high school

I, like a fly, wanted out

Started over three times

yet only made friends

at home, inside books.

I’m finally myself

in front of General Hospital

with a bowl of ice-cream

Quiet nap and a recurring dream

where I come home whenever I choose.

Life is good with my hubby and dogs

Is it fate -

Or have I recreated

a life of purpose with no chance

to retreat into my quiet shell -

Travelling the tunnels of my inner home?

inspirational
18

About the Creator

Jennifer Christiansen

Animal advocate, traveler, and bibliophile. Lover of all things dark and romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk2 years ago

    I relate :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.