Poets logo

The Interview

Or, why do you want this job?

By Grace TackettPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Interview
Photo by Work With Island on Unsplash

The interview

Why do you want

To work here?

Well

You see

I need money

And this place looks

Less terrible to work at

Than where I work now

But

Even though

Honesty is the best policy,

You don’t want me to say that

So now

I give you some

Ethical do-goody,

Or tear-jerky wholesome

Or far-flung idealistic

Inane response to an inane question

When really,

The only reason I want

This mind numbing retail job

Is to earn money

To do things

I actually want to do

Such as live in a house

Or eat food

Because really, what more could I ask for?

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.