Poets logo

The Inevitable

Acrostic for the Dancing with Distraction Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
13
The Inevitable
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

"Don't forget", she said. Looking at me with those beauiful brown pools, pleading, urging me to get it right for once.

"I won't", I reply, with all the surety of an obnoxious orangutan. "I won't forget...I promise" That...that was a mistake. Right there.

She doesn't believe me. Why should she?

Thinks It's only a matter of time. It's happened before.

Ready with the "I told you so". As hurtful and shameful as it always is, it's also justified.

Always has to be right. It's hard to be wrong, though, when you're always right and she is...always right.

Can't argue. Why bother? Why not cut to the chase and say sorry or maybe do better?

Though...can I? Maybe this will be the time I finally get it right.

If

only...if only it were that simple and I was that confident.

Now if only I could remember what I was told not to forget!

*

Thanks for reading!

I hope you enjoyed this acrostic for the Dancing with Distraction Challenge. If you did, click the heart, leave a comment, do all that funky stuff. It's greatly appreciated.

Here are a few other things you might like to read:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

social commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    LOL!!! Of course she's right...she actually remembers hahahaha!! Just kidding, I know this can be anyone, male or female, but couldn't pass up the chance to tease a bit. Great writing :)

  • You captured my relationship with my wife perfectly.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Lol. Well done, you obnoxious orangutan. Sorry, buddy. I couldn't resist.

  • Obnoxious orangutan! Now why didn't you come up with that when I was still with my boyfriend, lol! I would have used that on him 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Very good Paul, so you’re right! 😊

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Well done, Paul!

  • I enjoyed reading your story.

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    "she is....always right". I'm so glad you got there in the end! 😂😂😂😂😂😂 Great stuff, loved it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.