Poets logo

The Impostor

Fighting Inner Battles

By ThePenArtistePublished 6 months ago 1 min read

In shadows deep, where doubts reside,

A fragile mask, I wear with pride.

Though draped in smiles, beneath the guise,

An unseen sorrow, it never dies.

Each step I take, in the limelight's gleam,

A masterful act, a shattered dream.

With every stride, a whispered fear,

Impostor's echo, so crystal clear.

A soul engulfed in haunting doubt,

I dance through life, yet feel without.

Fraught with unease, a constant gnaw,

Masked in strength, but feeling raw.

Like a puppeteer's artful guise,

I play my role, the stage my prize.

But whispers haunt, from deep within,

"I'm not enough," a silent din.

Days parade with scripted grace,

Yet shadows linger in this secret place.

A fraud I feel, despite the cheer,

Carrying burdens no one sees or hears.

The weight of sadness, a heavy shroud,

Yet, with a façade, I stand unbowed.

The world may laud this veneer I wear,

Unaware of the inner despair.

Behind closed doors, I confront the ache,

Impostor's symphony, my heart does break.

Yearning for acceptance, to truly belong,

Yet, I dance to a tune of doubt's cruel song.

So, with a heavy heart, I press on,

Masking the storm until it's gone.

Holding firm against the ache's cruel toll,

A façade maintained, an imperfect role.

Invisible tears, a silent stream,

Fraudulent whispers in the seam.

But onward I tread, as if in control,

Hiding the turmoil within my soul.

These words might falter to express,

The depth of this masked distress.

Yet, in this verse, a truth is spun,

Of the silent battles fought and won.

For every soul that wears this guise,

Know you're not alone in this disguise.

Impostor's whispers, they may assail,

But your strength, beneath, will never fail.

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetry

About the Creator

ThePenArtiste

I believe in storytelling that entertains, enlightens, and, most importantly, makes you think. Whether it's a ghost story that sends shivers down your spine or an article that speaks to your inner self, I've got something for everyone.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Anna 6 months ago

    Good job! It's very colorful! I love it!😄

ThePenArtisteWritten by ThePenArtiste

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.