Poets logo

The (Im)material Girl

Your reminder to "Love your life."

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Peter Conlan on Unsplash

I'm not your 'typical' girl.

I like dancing,

exploring, and - above all -

camping.

.

No one will ever

see me dance.

Still, I try

if given a chance.

.

Despite my pitiful talents,

my 'love for life' is unmatched.

I believe life will pass you

and will feel like a 'flash.'

.

Some girls like makeup

and ensure they dress couture.

I feel sorry for them

because they may feel insecure.

.

More me, I don't want material things.

Instead, I want experiences.

That's why I travel far,

because life is serious.

.

Life may pass you by.

It may give a little notice,

because in the end

we are not focused.

.

You may feel like surrounding

yourself with material possessions.

However, for me,

travel is my obsession.

.

I have plans to live

to be at least 102.

Despite feeling a century old,

I know I'll believe that "time flew."

.

However, looking back,

I'll know that each moment was cherished.

After all, it's a harsh lesson to learn

'One day, we will all perish.'

.

When that day comes,

will you despair?

Will you vow you've had a 'happy life?"

Or consider it beyond repair?

.

When you die,

your material items stay behind.

However, it's this moment in mortality

when you'll be defined.

.

Will you cherish memories or items?

Only you'll know.

One day, we'll all pass on, so

I must ask: What wisdom will you bestow?

.

If you like this poem, consider giving these articles a read! 👇

Hearts ❤️ and tips ️💸 are always welcome and much appreciated as they help support my writing! 🙏

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kylara2 years ago

    I can completely relate. Not into make up and material stuff at all, but try to experience many different things. Saying more yes than no helps a lot in this context😁 love your work!

  • test2 years ago

    When you open with the idea that you are not a typical girl, this is disingenuous to me. No girl is a typical girl. Also, it makes your gender the defining medium of the entire work: "not a typical girl....." What is a typical girl? someone with a vagina?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.