Poets logo

The Ice Dancer

.

By Elaine Ruth WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Ice Dancer
Photo by Em M. on Unsplash

My preparation over with, I point

a blade-end at the ice, then visualise

the glide: the lack of effort, the sheer grace

of movement and practiced serenity.

I see myself move, in wide arcs and twisting turns.

I picture the routine: traditional tucks,

well-rehearsed pirouettes, breathtaking flips,

tipping my head, first this way, then that,

sweeping my arm in magnificent gesture.

I imagine the glister of shorn ice,

crystal spray landing in perfect order

in front of me; I predict the amazement

of my audience as I mind-mime

perfect synchronicity with the music

around me, my heart triple salkowing

as my thoughts whirl, spiralling dizzily:

I tell myself I am a fabulous ice dancer -

my elegance and style are legendary.

Under the floodlight, the ice-pond crackles

into life. I arch and stretch, flex tendons,

then in half-prayer, half-incantation, take

one final breath, then

pain, like an ice-cream headache,

that freezing lance of misery,

and I crack

as the pristine ice-pond

mocks me.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Elaine Ruth White

Hi. I'm a writer who believes that nothing is wasted! My words have become poems, plays, short stories and novels. My favourite themes are mental health, art and scuba diving. You can follow me on www.words-like-music, Goodreads and Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.