Poets logo

The Hymn Of The Limelight

"Get Comfortable" Poetry Challenge

By Toby DaviesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
The Hymn Of The Limelight
Photo by Ahmed Hasan on Unsplash

I go where you dare not.

I climb to the appointed place,

The anointed place, there to be bathed,

Oh sweet light!

There I am baptised anew, in full view and yet,

And yet,

It’s I who looks at you,

From where I sit, where I now play,

I watch you sway as one,

Your faces and the place you paid to be now blending,

Eyes and ears are drawn

To the place where I am now…

Transcending!

I go where you may not.

The gates are barred for all but me,

And I am free, there on the stage,

Oh endless night!

There I become my purest form as I perform and yet,

And yet,

It’s you who looks at me,

From where you sit, you watch me play,

You watch me sway and drum,

Your voices and the choice you made to be here, feeling,

Hearts and minds are drawn

To this place where we all now…

Are healing!

performance poetry

About the Creator

Toby Davies

Up until now, I've been a musician, one way or another. Performing, composing, teaching, as a hobby or as a career, music has been my focus. My 'thing'. But I've always planned on being a writer, when the time was right. It feels right now.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Toby DaviesWritten by Toby Davies

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.