Poets logo

The Hummingbird's Hymn

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings...

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
The Hummingbird's Hymn
Photo by Dulcey Lima on Unsplash

Wondering what it might be like

To run, wild, away with you, just

As wild witches in the night.

-

Giddiness together my heart

Beat is set aflutter, dew from

An idea, shut down before dawn.

-

For, I keep her locked away, my

Nameless Bird, while she stays —lingers

Longing at the edge of her gate,

Humming in harmony with yours…

-

-

-

Thank you so much for reading! This poem is very close to my heart and surrounds women's empowerment, freedom, and feeling trapped in a patriarchal society. I appreciate your support always :) Please check out my other poems!

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.