Poets logo

The Hue Within

A Personal Poem, By Mariah Mandwe

By Mariah MandwePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Roses are red, violets are blue, like the depth of the sea,

Like the hue within me.

Like the current of the rivers that flow widely,

My thoughts seem to drown me, ever so mildly.

I'm, blue like the ocean, we view so blindly.

Astonishing on first glance, but deep down within, deceptive and unkindly.

Swim in my relentless waters, you may come across devious monsters.

Previously held in captivity, I've decided to unleash, and let them roam free.

I'm blue like the sky, we look up to admire,

Until the storm rolls in, dreadful dark and dire.

Hear my thunder, feel my pain,

Soak in my tears, you call the rain.

You tell me, rain go away, come again another day,

But this time I'm not moving my soul for your sun to save you,

No, this time I am here to stay.

I'm blue like morning glory, blooming in the fields, till the first frost of fall.

I thrive until the cold sinks her teeth in, then shrivel up from the bite, I'm small.

I'm blue like flowers in the meadow, but suddenly I'm snatched from my soil,

Placed in a vase of containment, my pedals silently spoil.

Blue like the ice, on a bitter winters eve,

I reflect the sunlight, I shine like a beam,

Be careful when you step on my surface, I’m more than slippery.

Blue like the shimmering snow, on the mountains above,

When I come soaring down the rocks, it's best that you run.

But most of all, I'm blue, the color of peace and calmness.

The color of tranquility, the color of sorrow.

the color of my deepest secrets, never to be told.

Like the depths of the sea, the hue within me.

Blue is my blueprint, blue is my free.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.