Poets logo

The Honest Prose of a Drunk

Assortment

By Sebella SigelPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

A Perfect Love

I murmur ‘I love you’.

“Your girl apparatus is a gorgeous pink honey garden”

Is what you tell me back.

What the hell?

You’re doing it wrong.

When did ‘our moment’ become a bad joke,

And our sweet nothings the punch line?

Sex is a joke,

But I’m laughing for all the wrong reasons.

OoOoO

Fever Dreams

Delirious beneath my shadow,

Elaborate above my tongue,

I have rose petals

In celebration

Of our frantic mutual worship.

Please no wind or rain.

It all lies.

Recall everything the earth told you.

Whisper to the water

And it will always listen.

Sing to the flame

And it will answer you.

Chant some tiny dreams,

Like you’re drunk on love.

OoOoO

Omnivore

If meat could scream,

It would urge you to reconsider

Some, if not all, your life choices.

Too bad murder is a tasty business.

OoOoO

Nonsense

Pound an egg.

Always drunk,

Moan about it…

…Later?

OoOoO

Encouragement

Some tiny dreams don’t soar.

Bury them deep,

Six feet under.

Water them with tears and sweat,

But don’t lose focus.

Have the faith of farmers,

And the patience of crows.

Some tiny dreams don’t fly

Because they are seeds.

The Mermaid’s Poem

A girl with music in her hair,

Will braid moist melodies

To anyone who’s willing to listen,

And shed notes carelessly about.

Watching her sing to my seas

Will only brew up a sad storm

Over once crystal clear waters.

Those who moan about it

Are rusting their voices

On the salt air of her brutal truths.

OoOoO

Seasonal Lover

Languid repulsive beauty,

Gorgeous with whispers.

Your spring reveals light lust,

Sweet and elaborate as blood honey.

Worship me as I lay beneath you,

Your beloved is a sleeping deity.

Live for their summer.

OoOoO

Besotted

With the honesty of drunks and small children

I’ll tell you truths that will leave you reeling.

I want you to see me as I see you,

A diamond in the rough,

Faceted imperfect by other’s careless lives.

You pick up fire from the light placed upon you despite this,

Leaving me in awe

From the richness and depth of your color.

I want to wear you,

Like I wear my heart on my sleeve,

Fragilely brilliant and brittle as spun glass.

OoOoO

Random Advice

Sleep above death,

Live always beside love,

And your bed will never be empty.

Ask where sadness goes when it leaves.

It’s as lonely as the rest of us,

Perhaps even more so.

Ecstasy is always mistaken for something good

When she is simply only herself,

Overwhelmed.

Heave all those misconceptions from your lungs,

Acidic and light as smoke,

That coils through air like angel’s silk.

Become delirious with yourself,

Perfectly flawed thing that you are.

Your temple walls are fragile flesh

And your inner deity is fleeting.

Chant, sing, and grow frantic

With the religion of you,

Oh tiny dust mote god,

Made of pure will, iron, and stardust.

Skip the inquisition

And create an awakening.

Leave an indelible mark in your wake,

One that makes even angels stammer,

And spill their graces

Like rain on a clear day.

OoOoO

Mistakes Made

Losing myself in you,

Falling in a steep drop,

And an even quicker stop.

This is why we can’t have nice things.

When your tongue slips past my teeth,

It takes my good sense with it.

I lay waste to everything that matters

And you’ll be no exception to this,

A causality of mine in the making.

I promise this will hurt me more than you.

I will be less when you could have made me more,

And I will be the walking wounding for it.

OoOoO

High Noon

Resolve moving over my skin hot and dry as a desert wind.

We face off at the high noon of the moment.

Our exchange has disarmed me though,

Sharpshooter that you are,

You outdrew me without even really trying.

This conversation is turning out like the OK corral,

Not even Clint Eastwood can save this lost cause.

I’ll let myself swing with the rope of my own making,

Kicking out the bucket from under me in defeat.

OoOoO

Happy Hour

Drink, drank, so drunk,

Sink, sank, very sunk,

Again on the ground,

And all I’ve found

Is that gravity is still working.

OoOoo

Addicted

Lost in your skin,

Warm, wanting, there.

Like life against my cracked own,

I wish to revel in it,

Memorize it with my fingertips,

Map out my affections,

So you will always remember my touch.

OoOoO

Duel

Let’s play murder in the dark,

Our words the sharpest razors ever pressed past skin.

You bleed me out as I gut you in return,

Slip ‘I love you’ past your ribs,

And rip a hole in your heart with my tongue.

I hope and pray you cut my throat out with your rebuttal

So I can resist the urge to mark you permanently as my own.

OoOoO

Break

Checking out of my mind,

Be back in five minutes.

Taking a break from this brittle reality,

Might be back in time for lunch.

There is a thin line between lies and promises.

Is it my fault you keep believing one for the other?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.