Poets logo

The Historian

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

On the verge of total war

When will you people learn

How many children need to die

How many have to burn

Before we raze our flags in peace

From Hiroshima shadows

Instead of hanging all our dreams

From Nagasaki gallows

How can these shores of liberty

With kingdoms in the clouds

Pretend the stars are reachable

Beyond the spangled shrouds

If they see only crowded beaches

Refuse in the wake

Of the rising tides of change

No plastic in the fake

News anchor's melting guise

No right to speak the truth

If it rebels wiser

Than the ignorance of youth

Do we not feel the frigid serpents

Slithering inside our veins

Do we not envision Edens

With our globalizing brains

Are we just mass-consumption plagues

Still digging pre-determined graves

Are we nothing more than pharaohs

Building pyramids of slaves

For I see strength to bend these chains

And I hear courage in these hearts

And I taste hope in lips of love

And I will teach them of these arts

Of all my muses' mysticisms

Of my power's inspiration

I will be the light to guide them

To a human divination

Where the past's no longer present

And the future is my gift to you

For none shall own the history

I've written as it’s coming true

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.