Poets logo

The Hell House Escape

A Poem

By Cathleen AdelsbergerPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I can still feel your

five finger noose

wrapped around my throat

I can still feel the

Clenched hammer you pushed

Into my face

I can still hear

The anger in your voice

I can still feel the

Sharp thunder pulsing

Through my sides

I feel your heavy

Hands on my shoulders

Pushing me down

To the floor that

Will soon become my

Resting Place

I feel the blood stroll down

my face as I apologize

I can see into your dark eyes

I see my reflection

I look deep

Deeper than the

Wounds you have left imprinted

In my soul

I see something

I see the old me

The powerful me

I push you off me

with what strength I have left

I make a run for the door

as I hear your heavy steps

charging behind me

I find myself cornered

I reveal to you that I

I am stronger than this

I reach for the gun

stashed away in the drawer

You yell to me that

you will kill me

A sudden feeling of power

comes over me;

I pull the trigger

I turn towards the door

with the golden glow

I walk out into the sunlight

I walked out of the Hell House

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.