Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Hanoi Hilton

The Meadow

By Mark Stigers Published 25 days ago Updated 23 days ago 1 min read
The Hanoi Hilton
Photo by Harry Shelton on Unsplash

“Hi does anybody know tap code”

“I know how to code call me M”

“I’m BC and I code also”

“I’m called T and this is too grim”

“Stop tapping or you will be beat.”

“I’ll keep tapping I have no fear”

“Nothing worse than being shot down”

“The food is pretty bad I hear”

“My arm got broke but its not set”

“Try not to focus on the pain”

“They want to know my planes max load”

“This place is driving me insane”

“They asked me for my jet’s top speed”

“They injected me with a drug”

“They need information you see”

“Yum I just caught and ate a bug”

“Who did they just come in and take”

“It seems they have taken BC”

“They want to make him rat us out”

“That’s fine what will be will be”

“Stop tapping or it’s the meat hook!”

“What threaten me with more gloom”

“No they’ll make you eat their bad food”

“And lock you in a little room”

“I am not afraid of their threats”

“If they want they can beat on me”

“You could complain to management”

“Yes just see if they agree”

“Oh my arm it hurts me so bad”

“Think of a meadow of green grass”

“With a clear and cold running stream.”

“Into this scene let your mind pass”

“In this daydream what else resides”

“On the grass a deer is grazing”

“And a butterfly is floating”

“And the sunlight is now fading”

“You’re Slipping into deep sleep”

“You now transcend all space and time”

“See yourself at a restful peace”

“Release your bonds and free your mind”

“See all time beyond birth and death”

“See the lore of the common mind”

“Request that you be told the way

To escape from your current bind”

“BC is back how are you man.

“They’ve tortured me so I’d tell them”

“They try and keep me from my friends”

“Its the Hanoi Hilton welcome”

sad poetry

About the Creator

Mark Stigers

One year after my birth sputnik was launched, making me a space child. I did a hitch in the Navy as a electronics tech. I worked for Hughes Aircraft Company for quite a while. I currently live in the Saguaro forest in Tucson Arizona

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Mark Stigers (Author)24 days ago

    Took out all punctuation marks tap only had letters

  • Loved your take on the challenge. Just wondering, in this line, “On the grass a dear is grazing.”, did you mean deer?

Mark Stigers Written by Mark Stigers

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.