Poets logo

The Grind

I'm wearing thin

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
6
Photo by Leah Kelley: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-sitting-by-lake-185939/

There are twenty-four hours in the day,

so when twelve are for work,

how much can you play?

The craft has taken every second without remorse.

Blood and sweat,

and sleep, of course.

Ten years on the grind will wear anyone to dust.

There are pieces of me on the road,

dirt under my nails,

grit in my hair... and my bank account?

It's been a long time since it saw a 'plus',

or any sign of the work surviving entails.

If I bow out now,

could anyone lay blame at my feet?

At what point does passion overcome the need to make ends meet?

Meet me in the middle friend,

and toast with me to the end of an era.

I am worn thin,

but maybe your journey is about to begin and you-

you might find better luck.

I bless you with a clear mind and sharp eye,

I wish you thick skin and steady hands.

May you think quickly and plan with care -

and when the grind gets you down,

may you have a friend to share that weight.

performance poetry
6

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F8 months ago

    I know this feeling all too well and you have described it to a letter, so well done (I believe in this!)

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Hope you do carry on...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.