Poets logo

The Grey One

"Because it may be those, Who hold the sharpest minds."

By Jessie WaddellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
Photo by Jack Hawley from Pexels

In this rainbow room,

I feel so very grey,

So out of place and lonely,

I'm not sure why I stay.

-

My mouth is very quiet,

but my thoughts so very loud,

If only you'd look closer,

you might even be proud.

-

Outside might appear grey,

but the beauty that's within,

A symphony of colour,

I wish you'd let me in.

-

Be patient, stop and listen,

A surprise you might just find,

Underneath this shy exterior,

Lies wisdom undefined.

-

The quietest in the room,

Is often the most cunning,

If all my thoughts came spewing out,

You'd find that you'd be running.

-

I remember every word,

Memorised every lie,

While you were being far too loud,

To notice me pass by.

-

The loudest on the outside,

the ones with brightest hue,

The darkness lies deep beneath,

They have their secrets too.

-

So, don't mistake the grey ones,

The quiet or the shy,

Because it may be those,

Who hold the sharpest minds.

surreal poetry
13

About the Creator

Jessie Waddell

I have too many thoughts. I write to clear some headspace. | Instagram: @thelittlepoet_jw |

"To die, would be an awfully big adventure"—Peter Pan | Vale Tom Brad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.