Poets logo

The Greatest Showman

And his clown

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8

The moment I believed it,

it made what happened true.

The moment that you broke it,

you were not the person that I knew.

*

You told me truths.

But only in halves.

The other half was black.

You stole my ability to trust.

How can I ever get that back?

*

I was stunned at first, but only for a moment.

By your nonchalant display.

How could I blindly follow?

I believed everything you’d say.

*

It comes in every shape and color.

Every age and size.

Perspectives are a funny, fickle thing,

they help you clearly visualize.

*

The picture that was painted,

and the scene left to be seen.

Is like night and day or black and white,

not just a technicality.

*

I never thought that I was ignorant.

But you proved that I was wrong.

You had me tightly in your grip,

like a melody with no song.

*

You twisted my emotions,

till I thought I was insane.

Then when I opened up my eyes,

I was the one you blamed.

*

I was closed off, needed too much.

I didn’t care enough to listen.

And everyone else believed it too,

I was the source of our contention!

*

I tried to keep it all alive.

Keep everything you said, straight.

But you took my loyalty and love,

used it to negotiate.

*

How to get your way again.

To control the situation.

To talk me into buying more,

despite these nagging, deep suspicions.

*

Like a disposable yo-yo hanging on your string.

And you’re the master of disguise.

I keep falling for you tricks,

When I look in your eyes.

slam poetry
8

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!!💕💖😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.