Poets logo

The Great Mall Extinction

A poem about the tragedy of malls going under.

By Madison NewtonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7
Photo by Seph Lawless.

The smell of soft pretzels lingers in my nose,

it was always Auntie Anne's I chose.

Now the skylights and pillars

give me nothing but shivers

as I dread when a "mall" is a term no one knows.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryheartbreak
7

About the Creator

Madison Newton

I'm a recent graduate of Stony Brook University with a degree in Environmental Humanities and Filmmaking. I love writing and storytelling, and I love sharing my work so I can continue to improve my written voice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Ugh! so true. I haven't been to a mall in at least two years.

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    We have a near-dead mall nearby and you really did capture how I feel about passing by it and recalling old memories.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    For some reason I just thought of "The Last of Us" Season 1 Episode 7. Maybe it was the image which looks a lot like the one in the game. Good job Madison.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.