Poets logo

The Graying

The Graying Generation

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

The Graying

Some worry that they’ll never be heard,

Shouting from the rooftops, they’re absurd.

Ranting and raving about little or nothing,

Hoping to get a crowd’s reaction or something.

They’ll stand in your personal space,

With their opinions blaring in your face.

To them, their words are the ones that count,

Discarding your knowledge, your life they discount.

But did they ever think that time provides a gift,

A lifetime of experience, and wisdom not to dismiss.

Ore the years, the decades there were many,

We’ve walked the less traveled roads ignored by plenty.

In the shadows of our yesteryears, it is often said,

Lies the foundations of nations, valiant soldiers that bled.

But who am to that you should care, to pause to ask,

I’m a senior who’s traveled through decades past.

In my soul, their lives and memories to share,

Of life, love, laughter, and having someone to care.

You’ve never given me time to explain,

How life works, and how love heals all pain.

In my mind is a wealth of knowledge stored,

Of mysteries, magic, and unknown worlds I’ve explored.

But you only see the dimming eyes and hair of gray,

And smile at me as to say we’ll speak another day.

Don’t wait too long for this meeting to be set,

For things I’ve seen will be gone, this I bet.

Life doesn’t wait on any to accept this offer,

To share all that’s within me with simple gawkers.

So, either accept my gifts of a life now spent,

With its frivolity, its mercy, even at times some dissent.

Be it far better to listen to what has been experienced,

In stories and comments, before all are silenced.

It’s the older generation’s gift to the youth,

Their life experiences, and their love for the truth.

It remains before you a choice that will be made,

Whether to accept what’s freely given or push it away.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be. my books are on Amazon. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.