Poets logo

The Golden Key

Inspired by my love for my soul mate and husband

By Rasma RaistersPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
Like

When I first posted this poem we were still together and through the years many expressed their like for it. It is printed in my book of poems “On the Wings of Love” which I dedicated to him. He has now returned the “golden key to his heart” to me and now waits for me in eternity. What is interesting about our time together is that one day in the summertime while swimming in the Daugava River in Riga, Latvia I found a golden key similar to the one in the photo and took it home. We had that key at home ever since then and I can tell you that after he passed away and I chose to return to the US I don't remember what happened to that key. I guess he really took it with him and for the memories.

Give me the golden key to your heart,

so that I can see the inner glow of your soul,

from there I know radiates -

your love for me.

Give me the golden key to your heart,

as long as it keeps glowing,

while we’re apart -

I’ll know that your heart is still beating.

Give me the golden key to your heart,

let me inside to the very core of you,

my love for you -

like a fast river flows.

Give me the golden key to your heart,

I knew we’d never part,

right from the very start,

now I want to get to know the rest of you.

Give me the golden key to your heart,

tell me that we’ll love till the end of time,

till the world stops turning

and the fires burning.

Give me the golden key to your heart,

let me deep inside,

to the very being of you,

where I can find comfort and warmth.

Give me the golden key to your heart

and someday down the road,

when we’re old and gray -

I’ll return it and say thank you.

For giving me the golden key to your heart,

when it really mattered

and our love was full of passion -

the days full of love and kisses.

I’ll return it because I know,

that no matter how I wish it could be so,

we won’t be standing before Heaven’s portals together

and you’ll need the golden key to your heart.

But I know that someday,

we’ll be together in the eternal sky

and then we’ll know why -

our love always burned so bright.

Give me the golden key to your heart....

art
Like

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.