Poets logo

The Glove

Comfort in leather

By Johnny PPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Glove
Photo by Garreth Paul on Unsplash

Whenever I want to think of him I grab the glove above my desk

Perched up high on a cabinet

Looking down on all the rest

I smell its leather and feel its knots

Punch my fist into its padding

It was the greatest gift I ever got

I keep a ball inside its web

To maintain its shape

Because that's what he said

"Make sure you oil it and handle with care"

"It's a living thing"

"Don't abuse it, don't you dare"

Holding it brings me back decades

When he watched and taught me to play

But it was years ago and now the memories fade

I never quite mastered the glove

And I was never great

But through all that his love for me could never dissipate

We connected over the game

Through this glove

Despite any pain

For whenever setbacks came

He would hand me the glove and say

"No matter what I love you just the same"

The glove sits on a shelf now

Gathering dust, gazing down

Reminding me of simpler times

When he was healthy and everything was fine

As the end draws closer, I hold the glove near

Putting it on, playing catch with myself

Hoping fun will overcome my fears

He still holds strong despite the odds

And whenever setbacks come

I think of the glove and tell him

"No matter what I love you just the same"

The games still go on

But I no longer play

We watch together from a distance

Communicating almost everyday

The glove still lives on

After all these years

But when we leave each other for good

It won't matter all the rest

For the glove will be like Tiny Tim

Blessing future owners with all the best.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Johnny P

Political writing and exploring the human condition.

For more of my writing, check out my Medium page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.