Poets logo

The Glimpse

Just a splinter of a second

By Joshua haganPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
3
The Glimpse
Photo by Catalin Pop on Unsplash

I caught a glimpse of it one night, nothing more nothing less, a glimpse yes! Just a splinter of second. I was dark, yes so dark that the flicker a flame could not shine and be seen but just as dark as it was, oh it was was a loud indeed an ants steps wrenched my ear drums as it crawled along the old wooded floor boards oh these sounds kept me awake all night. But a glimpse I did indeed see, I swear, of how hideous and aweful, I wish my eyes would of glued shut for I wouldn’t have seen such a hideous creature, but even in a room this dark and radiant noises that echoed of the crepid walls I saw it, it poked its head around my door and smiled as it slowly slid itself back into the depths of the hall back around my bedroom door and herd it crawl away, it crawled so fast and oh so loud I screamed stop ! And heard it creaking foot steps stall and I could hear it turn around and it began to tip toe slowly Soo slowly did it tip toe… as if it had respect for my command or just mocking me, but it was coming back this way and on the nail each time, every 3 seconds I heard it take a step … err … err. In the pale illuminated dark my heart sank. It sank so deep, a hell born fear came over me, under my breath in the faintest form so that maybe it wouldn’t hear me, I said oh god please and then it stoped right infront of my door It stoped than I started to shake for I did not know it’s intension, I wanted to close my eyes but at what use, I couldn’t see any way. I see it black slimy oh it’s wretched claw reach out from the shadows of this hall way and place itself on my door knob. it was there a for what seemed like forever, contemplating, deciphering, watching me. oh did my anxiety grow, I wanted to scream “just do it allready” but then my door started to shut and the hand retreated away back into the shadows. And I could hear it tip toe away. But yes,a glimpse… a glimpse was all I got. Just a splinter a second, nothing more nothing less.

For Funfact or fictionpsychological
3

About the Creator

Joshua hagan

Hello my names josh and I’m just now getting back into writing.

Most of my stuff will be horror related or somewhere in between. Hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Outstanding work,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.