Poets logo

The Giver

"To thine own self be true" -William Shakespeare

By RhePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Artwork from https://aliciapicomalvado.com/portfolio/giving-too-much/

I give

you take

I need sleep

but am still awake

-

I offer

you receive

and come right back

I get no reprieve

-

I lend a hand

and it you hold

I keep you warm

but I'm still cold

-

I spare my time

to be with you

drop my plans

it still won't do

-

I allow

you overstep

I bite my tongue

take a deep breath

-

my head knows what

my heart won't say

but deep inside

I melt away

-

I say no more

you say we're through

I stood my ground

and there I grew

sad poetryslam poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Rhe

human making art

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Vincent Manta2 years ago

    Such a strong piece! Your word choices do such a nice job capturing the toxicity of a one-sided relationship. You have such an elegant writing style!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.