Poets logo

The Gift

Is the Magic 9 based on "abracadabra"

By Denise E LindquistPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
8
The Gift
Photo by Igor Omilaev on Unsplash

The Magic 9 is a newer form and relatively unknown. The creator could not be found, though it appears to have been inspired by a poet misspelling the word "abracadabra."

This 9-line poem doesn't have any rules as far as meter or subject matter--just a rhyme scheme: abacadaba.

That's right! Just remove the r's from "abracadabra," and boom! A new poetic form; and after writing my first Magic 9, I can report that they're fun to write. Writer's Digest, Robert Lee Brewer

Here’s my attempt at a Magic 9:

"The Gift", by Denise Estey Lindquist

It is gift-giving and I will get a few,

not my favorite time of the year,

there is always plenty for me and you!

I prefer giving them to getting gifts,

especially when that gift is the flu,

not to mention some bad news.

I have been feeling a bit blue,

as an X had a heart attack, the old dear.

No one's fault? I have a clue.

~~~~

"Gifts"

A new purse to replace the old one

from my favorite purse daughter.

A notebook and nice pens, a gun,

a candle, and money for a trip.

A birthday trip and it should be fun!

My 3 children are going with me.

We all look forward to seeing the sun.

I am guessing there will be warm water.

So happy to be going that way, I won!

GratitudeFor FunFamily
8

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Great job! Keep up the fantastic work

  • Lol, they just removed the 'r' and got the rhyme scheme! I loved both your poems!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Marvelous!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    It does look like fun, but I dunno if I am equal to it! I struggled a lot with villanelles without success so far. Maybe I will give this one a go. I love yours! 😁

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Nailed it! Love your humour throughout, too. I can't even attempt the skill of the art. Bravo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.