Poets logo

The Garden

Just a Brief Reflection on the World—I guess I'm in a bit of a melancholy mood. Thanks for reading!

By Journey ScribePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I walked into a garden today.

The trees bloomed with emerald leaves.

Squirrels chittered in the trees,

Arguing over a nut for breakfast.

I walked into a garden today.

Children laughed and gave chase.

The loser of the game fell in the plush grass,

And giggled and scrambled to his feet.

I walked into a garden today.

Butterflies silently danced in the air.

Their wings sparkled with the dew of the rain,

As they drank of the succulent flowers.

I walked into a garden today.

But the green had turned to grey.

Rubber streaks marked the tires’ passing.

As the squirrels dared to dash across.

I walked into a garden today.

It is all concrete and stone.

Children scrambled about in sport,

But the loser cried when he scraped his knee.

I walked into a garden today,

And not one butterfly graced the air.

There was only one, drowning in a puddle,

But a student silently pinned it to a board.

I walked into a garden today,

But the garden is long gone.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Journey Scribe

Hey, everyone! My name's Jessica, and I am a Christian and aspiring novelist just trying my hand at writing articles! Thanks so much for viewing my page/works on here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.